At JCCD's 75th Anniversary Banquet, on September 25, 2021, George Miller was honored with a plaque commemorating his dedication and lifelong service.
At JCCD's 75th Anniversary Banquet, on September 25, 2021, George Miller was honored with a plaque commemorating his dedication and lifelong service.

Associate Directors

Jerry Chamberlin
Laura Lynn Yohe
Tom Kundrich
Denny Day
Deb Wilson
Porter Duvall
Bruce Snyder 


Shaun Wessell- District Manager

Christine Hughes- Administrative Assistant

Megan Whitlatch- ACT/NM Specialist

Carl Johnson- Resource Technician

Dana Hannibal- District Technician

Becky Gaston- Conservation Technician

Jenna Biggie-Watershed Specialist

Laryssa Remmick-Resource Technician II

About Us

History                          75th Anniversary                          Our Mission


The Jefferson County Conservation District was established in 1946 by the Jefferson County Board of Commissioners, to provide for the conservation of soil, water and related resources of the Commonwealth.

For more information on the history of Conservation Districts, click here.
Created under the Conservation District Law, districts are the local unit of state government that provides the link between you, the citizens, and the multitude of local, state and federal natural resource management programs. A Board of Directors, appointed by the County Commissioners from nominations received from County-wide organizations, serve as your voice. A staff of professionals provides information, technical assistance, financial assistance and educational programs and support at the direction of that Board.


The Jefferson County Conservation District Board of Directors is comprised of seven directors (three farmer members, three urban/public members, and a County Commissioner). As volunteer members representing a variety of local communities, the Board leads District programs and sets District policies. Jefferson County residents are encouraged to contact their nearest District Board member with conservation concerns and issues.

Tom McFarland, Chairman- Tom, a public director, is retired from Department of Environmental Protection. This is Tom's fourteenth year as a director, he was also an associate director for many years.

Herb Bullers, Vice-Chairman- Commissioner Director– Herb began his first term as a Jefferson County Commissioner in January, 2016. 2023 is Herb's eighth year as a director. Herb is a businessman and a contractor.

Allen Campbell, Secretary/Treasurer– Allen, a public director, is also the President of the Jefferson County Federation of Sportsmen. Allen is well respected throughout the region for his leadership and stewardship of the North Fork and Sandy Lick watersheds. 2023 is Allen's 24th year as a director and he was an Associate Director for 12 years.

Terry Shields, Director– Terry, a farmer director, has many years experience on his farm. He is an Environmental Coordinator for PA Farm Bureau. This is Terry's eleventh year as a director, he was
an associate director for 19 years.

Theresa Shick, DirectorTheresa, a farmer director, manages a cow-calf operation. She is a former dairy farmer and is active in the County 4-H Program. 2023 is Theresa's 18th year as a director.

Sam Farcus, Director- Sam, a public director, is our newest director. Sam had been on the Board of Supervisors with Young Township and worked with the District many times through Dirt & Gravel projects. This is Sam's second year as director.

JCCD Annual Reports

Click here for District Brochure

Click here to see a complete list of past Directors of the Jefferson County Conservation District 

Create your website for free!